Drawing the Stack

Intro

I’m new to everything demonstrated below, so be forewarned of potential errors. This technique of drawing the stack was something a professor hammered into the class this year. Let’s dive in!

Author Assigned Level: Newbie

Community Assigned Level:

• Wannabe
  • Hacker
  • Wizard
  • Guru

0 voters

Required Skills

Since C and Assembly are used, C and Assembly would be useful to know before reading. The examples, however, should be simple enough for any beginner to read and understand from context.

C

Nothing fancy here:

#include <stdio.h>

int callMe(int num1, int num2);

int main() {
	int a = 0;
	int b = 2;
	int c = callMe(a, b);
	printf("%d\n", c);
	return 0;
}

int callMe(int num1, int num2) {
	int ans = num1+num2;
	return ans;
}

Assembly

; main()
   <+0>:	push   rbp
   <+1>:	mov    rbp,rsp
   <+4>:	sub    rsp,0x10
   <+8>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0xc],0x0
   <+15>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0x8],0x2
   <+22>:	mov    edx,DWORD PTR [rbp-0x8]
   <+25>:	mov    eax,DWORD PTR [rbp-0xc]
   <+28>:	mov    esi,edx
   <+30>:	mov    edi,eax
   <+32>:	call   0x68f <callMe>
   <+37>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0x4],eax
   <+40>:	mov    eax,DWORD PTR [rbp-0x4]
   <+43>:	mov    esi,eax
   <+45>:	lea    rdi,[rip+0xb6]        # 0x734
   <+52>:	mov    eax,0x0
   <+57>:	call   0x530 <printf@plt>
   <+62>:	mov    eax,0x0
   <+67>:	leave  
   <+68>:	ret    

; callMe()
   <+4>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0x14],edi
   <+7>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0x18],esi
   <+10>:	mov    edx,DWORD PTR [rbp-0x14]
   <+13>:	mov    eax,DWORD PTR [rbp-0x18]
   <+16>:	add    eax,edx
   <+18>:	mov    DWORD PTR [rbp-0x4],eax
   <+21>:	mov    eax,DWORD PTR [rbp-0x4]
   <+24>:	pop    rbp
   <+25>:	ret

In short, main() passes a and b to callMe() through edi and esi, which returns a + b in eax.

The stack