Guide for Data Sanitization

##Guide for Data Sanitization

Hello everyone, hope you’ve been doing great! @anon79434934 recently said that we should post articles about something that we are learning, both to help us study and maybe to introduce other people to new subjects. That’s what this article is, so forgive (and please correct) me if I say something that’s wrong, as I’m still learning.

So I’ve recently been tasked with selling a used desktop computer, which means I have to properly clean it, both physically (case, internal components, etc…) and logically (securely erase all data - in other words, sanitize it).

This got me reading a lot of articles on Data Sanitization Methods to better comprehend it and learn more about it, which made me stumble upon a very good and interesting 64-page document about this subject (the purpose of this article is to summarize this document).

The document is called “Guidelines for Media Sanitization” and it’s written by NIST - National Institute of Standards and Technology.

According to their website, “NIST’s mission is to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life”. Whatever that’s means…

What matters is that they make some fine ass documents (like really good, all freely available), on pretty much every field of science, and the field of Cybersecurity and Computer Security is no exception. They have a website called CSRC - Computer Security Resource Center, “which facilitates broad sharing of information security tools and practices, provides a resource for information security standards and guidelines, and identifies key security web resources to support users in industry, government, and academia.”