Introduction to the Arduino Series

My Introduction
First, I would like to thank 0x00sec for providing such a great community. I would also like to thank Arrogant Bastard, Sierra Nevada and Deathwish Coffee for providing the sustenance necessary for starting and completing the following series. Not only should you get drunk while completing these projects but you should consume the correct amount of coffee as well. It’s part of a well balanced diet (which includes ramen of course). You may also need bic lighters and your choice of tobacco, pre rolled cigarettes (like Marlboro) and my favorite, Zig Zag rolling papers.

I hold a degree in Information Systems (CIS), and am not an electrician or mechanical engineer. I have been creating software since 1998, so about 20 years. I run my own SEO and web development business and am creating this series to help this community grow and to help you, the reader, grow. I was creating software before the internet was blessed with PHP and when Oracle was still 8i. I am an old drunken tattooed programmer, so excuse the language if you’re a christian, excuse the drinking if you’re a teetotaler, and most importantly remember that I am always open to criticism, hate and suggestions.

Arduino Series Introduction
The Arduino has made it possible for hundreds of thousands of people to create gadgets they normally otherwise wouldn’t have been able to build. The Arduino is a micro controller that allows you to assemble and create just about anything you can dream up. Arduinos can be bought for dirt cheap online (ebay, amazon) and there are even resources to create your own Arduino using schematics provided by the Arduino team.