Knowing Null: ricksanchez - Dual Boot Life

Welcome Back to Knowing Null!

This week, you voted to bring in ricksanchez!

Let’s just jump right into it.

First, I’d like to thank you for joining this series

of course, anytime :slight_smile: If people really feel the urge to get toknow more about me this is the perfect chance!

Can you tell me and the readers a bit about yourself, what kinda work you’re doing?

I’m obviously part of this forum and go by the alias of ricksanchez/0x00rick. In the outside world I’m mainly a student finishing up on my masters degree in CS with a focus on IT-security related topics/classes. Been working real IT-(sec) jobs ever since I started my bachelors degree though.

What was your first entry into the IT world?

“professionally” or just any encounter with IT related things?

“Lets start with your casual interest, and then your first professional job”

Okay let’s see I guess anything IT related goes back to fiddling around with the first PC I had access to. We’re talking MS-DOS era close to the Win95 time. Starting from there anything computer/video game console related peaked my interest.

For professional jobs… hmm I started my first real IT related job directly after high school at the beginning of my uni career as a “manual bug finding monkey” in a dev company that worked on a new CMS. In hindsight this somewhat already was my first step into the IT-security field because I was finding system critical bugs/flaws within their product too. IT-security as a whole was not on my radar back then tho. I was young and dumb…

“So are you currently employed while also pursuing your masters?”

Yes indeed. I’m on my 3rd job while pursuing my uni career. This double load was very stressful at times, but it taught me a lot and showed me the path I want to pursue and multiple paths I really don’t want to pursue after my degree (for now)