Material for Learning Exploit Development

When I started studying and learning about exploit development, one of the biggest issues I ran in to was finding a good starting point. I am by no means an expert in this field, but here is a list of some of the material I found helpful while learning (I still am learning and will always be) to research vulnerabilities and develop exploits. I figured I would put this list out there to help anyone else who is in the same place I was. Here we go!

Books!

Links!

Other Helpful Things!

• Offensive Security’s Penetration Testing With Kali Linux course. https://www.offensive-security.com/ Not necessarily related to exploit development but more on general Pen Testing, this course changed the way I look at Info Sec as a whole. Plus the OSCP certification is worth it! Offensive Security also has another course called Cracking the Perimeter (CTP) that focuses more on exploit development which gets you the OSCE certification. (Eventually I want to take this course myself.)

• https://www.vulnhub.com/ Vulnerable VMs which are a ton of fun.

• Most import thing: Don’t get discouraged when you can’t figure something out, keep researching and learning. You will figure it out eventually. Also, don’t compare yourself to others. Everyone who is good at what they do were bad at it at one point. Keep going! As Offensive Security likes to say, Try Harder!

19 Likes

I’d like to offer an Edit.

PWK (Which gets you your OSCP) Is more of an intro to pentesting course. While there is one chapter on Exploit Development, it’s not meant to be the main focus of the course.

The course that get’s you your OSCE, on the other hand, is the course that actively focuses on Exploit Development; as far as I’ve been told by those currently enrolled in its curriculum anyway.

Both courses are hella $$$$

3 Likes

Good point. Ill throw that in there. Yeah the courses are pretty expensive. I found PWK worth it though.