Please help on "hackthebox" challenge

Hello friends… I am new to hacking and have started taking online courses , watching tutorials , and right now I am trying with some pentest practicals
And for that purpose, started challenges in "Hackthebox.eu " . . I hope all are familiar with that site which seems to be good for beginers…

Right now, I am stuck the very first challenge. All I have is an ip address . I have to penetrate and exploit the system.I have to find the system ID and password.

What I did : With the ip, I tried zenmap and got the open ports,OS details.
But now, confused with the method of exploitation.
Which ports are most vulnerable??
How should one start with port hacking??
Is metasploit the best way to do this ?

Please pardon if I am asking too basic stuff…
I know hacking lessons cannot be spoon fed, but I need strong understanding of theses things to move further. so plz help!!!
HOW CAN ONE HACK A SYSTEM WITH THE ONLY INFORMATION BEIGN THE “IP Address of the machine”
Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

same with me. i didnt completed first box till now

Oh!! I am trying to get as many informations as possible regarding network scanning, attacking ports, etc which are useful for this task., but couldn’t find an effective method as of now…
Anyways, If you find anything informative please do share with me as well !!!

I didn’t solve it myself yet. Do you mean the registration, or did you manage this?

It is always ok to ask for help, we all need it sometime

@BO41
Thanks for immediate response dude !!
But this is not what I needed xD
I cracked this “code generation” step and got registered to site and here’s where I am stuck!!
There are many machines provided with “ip address” alone and all we need to do is hack them down!!
BUT HOW ?? :smiley:
Thats where I need help :frowning: