Wine and Ollydbg

Hello,
I participated in the forum a short time and learned a lot of interesting things.
I am currently a student, and newbie to learn about RE / Malware.
I met a question that, when I use linux and install wine to run Ollydbg. The problem is probably in wine, I understand that wine windows platform emulator is correct and if true, when I open the wine with a crackme (PE), this is causing the error. It says that this file is only executable on windows 32. I think I was wrong because wine did not emulate windows. I want to ask if my thoughts are true? Wine does not emulate the windows platform, it just emulates the folders so that the programs on windows understand and execute them.
It is great if you give me some tips on something that is needed for a beginner like me. Be it documentation, knowledge or some specialized tools.
Thanks for care. (sorry for my bad english).

If you’re serious about reverse engineering Windows applications and malware, you might as well get a Windows virtual machine. Ollydbg is only one of the many tools you’ll need and only using it is not sufficient, e.g. it does not support 64-bit or .NET PE files.

2 Likes

Thanks for the reply.
I can use the VM, however I am a Linux user and I want to operate conveniently on my computer. And I want to learn and analyze objects on Linux (ELF-32, ELF64) rather than windows (.NET, .exe, …). Can you recommend a few common tools for RE on linux? (It’s bad because I only know GDB :blush: )
And the question in my topic is raised because I want to understand if I run malicious files through wine on my Linux machine, will my Linux OS be affected?
Thank you.

Sorry, Windows is my playground so I’ve no idea about Linux. You should direct your questions towards @0x00pf. As for Linux malware? Not sure if there’s anything significant there?

Hi,