Starting in Red Team

Starting in Red Team

This is a path I would like to talk about since I was working on my own to get to where I finally am. A Jr Red Team Operator, now we all ask ourselves this question when we start, “Where do I start?”. Well, this used to be a difficult question to answer as even I had some problems all I wanted to do was Hack I did not care what it was, I just wanted to get started. Once I did, you start finding the love and interest on the categories of hacking that you would like to focus on.

Yeah, you can be a “Jack of all trades, master of none” I mean here in hacking that is usually something hard to do, since in the working world they want you to be good at something specific, it could be programming, Initial Access, Lateral Movement, Privilege Escalation, yada yada . But here, you need to do what you like most or believe me you will be miserable it is just a fact. I am no expert or nothing, as there is so much that gets my attention, it could be Initial Access (Do see how I specify on Red Team only, but I might jump to other stuff), Enumeration, Lateral Movement, Privilege Escalation, Exploitation, Malware Development, Bypasses and so on and so on, I can honestly keep going since the list is immense on stuff that you can learn with hacking.

You thought it was only computers!! Nah, you got some jokes there it you think that way. You can hack refrigerators, Microwaves, Toasters, Cell Phones, damn anything with a radio signal or Internet is accessible to you.

But let me show you the path I took to reach here, you will notice this is more of a rough draft on some poorly written steps since I always moved around until I found my pace but let me get started.

Vulnhub