Adventuring into Neural Nets (Part 1)

Hello! Random-man reporting. So this is gonna be a quick write up on some basic neural network stuff, and I’ll probably divide it in 2 parts. First off, let me say that I’m not a professional computer scientist or mathematician. I want to head down that route when I get to the point in life, but for now, I’m just an amateur. Just a disclaimer :wink: . I’m learning this as I write on it.

What is a Neural Network?

A neural network is sort a man-made “emulation” of a real neural network, that is a subset of an actual brain. Now, if you asked ME whether or not a complex neural network would produce a real “intelligence”, that is, a being with true consciousness, I’d probably say no, at least for now. However, they could definitely be used to produce something along the same level as a plant or simple minded animal :D. That’s very useful.

So as we all know in life, not ALL problems are easy to solve with a computer. At least, the way to programmatically solve them isn’t always obvious. If we have a set of numbers, we know that sorting them is definitely a task for a computer, and there are many ways to do this. Of course this is obvious to all who have read some of @oaktree’s great stuff on sorting, and taken a look at Bogo sort, perhaps one of mankinds most beautiful creations. But ask a computer whether or not this is a picture of a dog.

Is there an obvious solution? Probably not. This is where neural networks come to use in our endeavors. The idea of a neural network is that we setup a system that will take some input. It will most likely produce an arbitrary outcome based on it’s initial conditions. Then the output is judged on a criteria of being our desired outcome. Based on this, the system will shift its conditions based on our feedback. So a classical computational problem may be something like…