Encrypted Chat: Part I

The Project

I started programming an encrypted chat client and server to learn more about encryption and how it’s implemented in network protocols (e.g. SSH or HTTPs over TLS). Now that it’s almost complete, I wanted to share what I learned with you.

I’m splitting up this series into two posts. The first, a.k.a. this one, will cover the concepts needed to understand how the program works. The second will dive into the code and connect these concepts with what the program is actually doing. Props to @oaktree for suggesting this format.

Let’s get started.

Part One: The Conceptual Overview

The objective is to establish a shared key for encrypting and decrypting messages sent between a client and a server.

To set up a chat room, a client must be able to securely send messages to a server—and vice versa. Symmetric encryption, which uses the same key for encrypting and decrypting messages, is a really good candidate for this task. However, to do so, the two parties must agree upon a key.

**Remember: encryption keys are just really big numbers

So how can we get two computers to have the same big number? We can’t just send it over the wire… that would defeat the purpose of encrypting in the first place, since an eavesdropper could just steal the key and decrypt everything. Instead, we’ll use something called the Diffie-Hellman Key Exchange.

Step 1: Diffie-Hellman Key Exchange

A really clever way of generating a shared key.

Diffie-Hellman (or DH for short) uses finite cyclic groups to have two entities come to the same number without ever explicitly sharing it. Many implementations use the multiplicative group of integers modulo p, where p is a prime number, for their finite cyclic group. However, other options such as elliptic curves also exist (you’re using one right now to view this webpage!).