Intro to Digital Forensics [Part 1 - Digital Evidence]

Hello again! The results of the poll from my last post are very clear, so I’ve decided to go forward with the “Intro to Digital Forensics” topic

Like I previously mentioned, this post will cover various topics regarding Digital Forensics, hopefully serving as a good introduction to the field. I’m not an expert in the matter, meaning this post might contain a few errors and misconceptions as it will be based on my limited knowledge. That being said, we are all still learning, so if you see something that isn’t right, dont’ be afraid to say so in the comments and help us all learn.

Midway through writing this, I decided to separate the topic into various parts, as to not overwhelm the readers.

Let’s get to it then!

INTRO TO DIGITAL FORENSICS

Digital Forensics (or Computer Forensics) is one the most recent branches of the Forensic Sciences, focusing on the recovery and subsequent analysis / investigation of digital data as a means to produce digital evidence with probationary validity in court. What I mean is, you can’t simply present something in court and call it evidence.

As such, it becomes necessary to ensure the preservation of digital evidence through its appropriate seizure, acquisition, analysis, identification, validation, interpretation, documentation and, finally, presentation.

As you can see, this is a very long and complex process. Given it’s complexity, a Digital Forensics Operation quite often requires a specialized and multidisciplinary team. Some may specialize in Network Forensics, others in Mobile Forensics. Some Ops might even need experts in various computer related fields (i.e hardware, databases, telecommunications, etc).

Through out this article I will focus on the more Legal / Court related aspect of Digital Forensics, as opposed to the Private Investigations side of it, even though they are quite the same, technically.

[+] DIGITAL EVIDENCE