Knowing Null: fraq - A Bug's Best Friend, and Worst Nightmare!

Heya everybody!

Today, I bring you another Knowing Null Interview with the man you all voted for: fraq!
Be sure to stick around after the interview to vote for the next subject. If there’s a question you’d like to see asked in future features, go ahead and leave a comment or ping me on IRC.

Here. We. Go.

Aret tho ready’st for thine interrogation?

Yeah dude let’s do it

okay. so first off, can you give a short little blurb about you, your skills, and maybe some info about what you do at your job?

Sure. So, the easiest way to describe myself and my background is that I’ve been screwing around with computers and infosec stuff since 6th grade or so
grew up in the deep south in a time when it was definitely NOT cool to be a nerd, so I was pretty isolated
Discovered IRC, found a set of people like me online
When i graduated high school, I joined the air force where I really began to sharpen my skills and picked up the nick that I have now
So from network admin -> data center stuff -> “devops”
Now my formal title is “Director of Infrastructure and Information Security”
that answer the question?

Yes, great. And for those unaware, can you give a surface level description of what “devops” is?

Sure. So picture a sysadmin
Maybe a lone guy, been managing a bunch of linux systems since the dawn of time
or maybe like 2-3 people
The “traditional” way of writing code and shipping it has been to write loads and loads and loads of changes, then ship them all at once
Release day is terrifying
If there’s a bug, it takes a quarter or more to fix unless you rush out a hotfix
there’s a wall between developers and sysadmins
Devops isn’t a job, it’s a cultural movement
Some of the main points of focus are improving communication between teams, reducing time to ship new features and fixes by employing continuous integration and deployment, improving ownership and visibility of infra by monitoring better