Knowing Null: REal0day -- Building a REal Community

This week’s guest: @REal0day!

Professional career and advice

Hello REal0day. Thanks for participating today!

For starters, can you tell us a bit about yourself and your current role/job/work?

I’m a Security Researcher at a startup that specializes in asset discovery and vulnerability assessment for hospital network and medical devices.

How did you first get into the field? (What was your first hack?)

I got my start in InfoSec by attending Sam Bowne’s Ethical Hacking and Network Defence course at City College of San Francisco. After taking that class, I took the CompTIA Sec+ course and passed. I was attending SFSU and CCSF full time at both, but I couldn’t afford school anymore so I applied for work and got my first job at a security startup as a Security Analyst. I was making as much as my parents at age 22.

Can you give a rough map from your beginnings to where you are now?

I started like any other kid growing up in the 90s. 56k modem. Lots of beeps, and boops AOL chatrooms.
First got online at age 9 and was meeting strangers and mostly just playing games and getting pwned by hackers.