Learn Botnets, Rootkits and Keyloggers

Hi, I’m a bit of a script kiddie and I dont want to keep relying on tools like msfvenom and that, I want to be able to develop my own rootkits, bitcoin miners, keyloggers and botnets. But i don’t know where to look for help or where to learn about this. If anybody can hold my hand through this or point me in the right direction to where I can go from 0 to 100 hackerman.

And no I’m not a complete noob don’t worry I have a decent amount of experience, just don’t know what language to use or how to even write it. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Start simple and be creative. Any language is okay if you are proficient with it. You could make malware in python if you like. Some languages are better tho, like C/C++, smaller program size, using Windows Api directly without wrappers, etc.
Basic keylogger should be simple. Capture the keystrokes, then try to hide the program somewhere to work in the background, then figure out how to send target’s input to your pc, etc.
You could look for malware source codes online, there are plenty of them, open source.
You could go through malware analysis and learn that way. There are some great books.
If you are interested in rootkits, read “Bootkits and Rootkits” book, 1-2 years old, good read.
The Rootkit Arsenal is also good read.
There are some great guys here, so i’m sure they will help too.
Don’t do anything stupid. Jail is scary, and if you try something, you will be there in a sec. You wont get away with it. Stay safe.

5 Likes

Why would you want to develop bitcoin miners and make botnets? :thonk:

The tools that criminals use look indeed shiny at first for a few reasons:

1. You can’t have them(Or can you?)
  2. It looks cool to be the bad guy and manage all these bots
  3. You want to do things you’re not allowed too.

Let me first begin by informing you something I wish I knew 3 years ago, you can get all these tools - for free and view their source code on github.