Question about my idea for an anonymous setup

Hi all -I’m a software dev by trade, advance-beginner hacker.

I spent a lot of time today reading through the Anonymity category here and tested out a few setups today. Bear in mind, what I’m about to ask could very well absolutely stupid no doubt, but I feel like this community could give pretty good insight into why this would be a bad or useless setup implementation:

Host Machine

• Ubuntu or Deb installed on the physical hard drive
  • LVM Encrypted Hard Drive option during installation
  • LVM encrypted root and home directory after installation
  • Connection: VPN (vpn provider #1)
  • VirtualBox installed

Virtual Machine

• Tails or Whonix linux distro installed on encrypted VirtualBox VDI Disk
  • LVM Encrypt root and home directory after installation
  • Connection: TOR → VPN (vpn provider #2)
  • VirtualBox installed

Virtual Machine #2

• Linux distro of choice running live via the ISO saved on the previous virtual machine or even on a USB
  • Connection: TOR

My thinking was that the host will be running VPN#1, okay now your ISP might not flag you for TOR usage. And assuming you choose a theoretically ‘secure’ company, then VPN#1 wouldn’t care or have logs on tor usage.

So then with the first virtual machine, you’re connect through TOR. And on top of that, let’s say I’d connect to a VPN#2 (another ‘credible’ company). My thoughts was that since there’s many people that run TOR → VPN, surely other people on that ip from VPN#2 were connected to TOR as well, making the web that traces back to you so much more intricate.

Finally - Virtual machine #2. Well since it’s host machine is technically virtual machine #1, then that means machine #2 certainly couldn’t have access to any of your main host machine’s physical hardware ID’s. And to put the cherry on top, say I connect to TOR yet again.

Again, I’m willing to get roasted on this if it means I learn a little more, lol.

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes