Routes for getting into Pentesting

Hi

First off, if this is in the wrong place or something, sorry, and do what you must :b

So, I have a question for people here who are currently, or have ever been working as a Penetration Tester, in any capacity, or anyone in the know I guess. I want to move into this area, but am a little lost as to which route I should take. My background is:

• I recently graduated from a CS degree.
  • I have no previous relevant work experience.
  • I have been mucking around with hacking on sites like HTB and such for years, but only in the last year have I done so with real focus(not just for fun), making a concerted effort to get better.
  • I have used Linux for many years and know my way around quite well I would say.
  • I have a good working knowledge of programming in general, particularly Python and Java.
  • Currently studying for Network+ cert
  • Going to go for the OSCP in the near futureā€¦ well ASAP really.
  • Just to round this off, I will say Iā€™m going through various privesc and other pentesting related courses too at the moment, as well as delving into web pentesting. Really trying to up my game in general.

I know there are so many routes a person can take getting into pentesting/security in general. But I see before me, two probable courses. Either the IT route, starting on helpdesk, moving, hopefully before long, to a Network Admin type role, and perhaps Network Engineer, then pivot to pentesting. The other route, would be to get into a SOC as an analyst, and work my way from there. I would very much appreciate any thoughts on this. For instance, perhaps you think one would be better? Perhaps you would suggest something else entirely? Maybe youā€™d share your journey? Anything at all. Thanks for reading!

EDIT: