What is best methodology for discovery vulnerability and Exploit Development in binary software?

I’m new in Exploit Development and Discovery Vulnerability. I learning some technique by some course and books.I have learned Stack Buffer Overflow and Heap Buffer Overflow and Format Strings and some bypass technique for ASLR,NX,DEP , … .
But I think its only technique and I need a methodology for best performance in discovery vulnerability in binary software.
so,what is best methodology for discovery vulnerability and Exploit Development in binary software?

2 Likes

Well isn’t that the million dollar question

3 Likes

I find this presentation in 2017 :
BalCCon2k17 - m-r Mane Piperevski - Methodology for Vulnerability Research and Exploit Development

if you have other resource share it.

3 Likes

Well, thats not so easy to answer.

One way is the good old source code analysis. A lot of important security issues were found this way. For example the recent sudo bug.

If you’re looking and auditing source code, the easiest way is to simply search for unsecure functions, which exist in all languages. And if you find one, you are basically following the call graph and see where is the input data coming from. Can I somehow influence it etc.

Another way, if you for example, do not have the source code available, is fuzzing. It can often find some good issues. However, the really hard part, most of the time is exploiting it.

The problem with a lot of pwn challenges and educational stuff, is that it is a very “sandboxed” view of things. In the real world it can get way more complicated to write a proper and stable exploit. Finding a buffer overflow or other type of vuln, can be challenging but most of the time its not that hard. The hard part is to exploit it in a way that the application keeps working.

Last but not least, I would say manual testing paired with an attached debugger / disassembler.