The VMCS - Part #1

The VMCS - Part #1

Edit
  • Added disclaimer and links
  • Added navigation links

Disclaimer

This article is based on extensive research and I am not an expert in this field. The only intention I’ve got was “ to understand how virtualization is working and share it ” (a pretty naive target). Please tell me any mistake you discover. I will correct it as quick as possible.

So in the last part we talked about the life cycle of a VM.

But how does the processor gets the information for setting up the guest, what registers it should load and which interrupts or CPU-instructions cause a VM-Exit?

For all this information the VMM needs the Virtual Machine Control Structure (VMCS) which holds all the information about the configuration and which rules it has to obey. So, how does this structure looks like?

VMCS
    |                                  |
    | abort indicator (boring)         | 
    |__________________________________|[byte 8]
    | Guest-state Area                 |
    |__________________________________|
    | Host-State Area                  |
    | VM execution control fields      |
    | VM-Exit control fields           |
    | VM-Entry control fields          |
    | VM-Exit information fields       |
    |__________________________________|[byte 4096]

The first fields are pretty self-explanatory. The first 31 bits (30:0) are the ID of the VMCS. Every guest gets its own VMCS. So it is possible to have different guests with different rule sets.
Although it seems reasonable that this ID is simply a memory address, it is actually not. In fact the processor returns the ID when you reading a model specific register (MSR).

xor eax, eax
mov rcx, 0x480    ; copy id for MSR which holds information about VMCS
readmsr           ; stores VMCS identifier into eax 
MSRs